Aarhus University Seal


ySKILLS - Youth Skills

Project description
Youth Skills - ySKILLS examines risks and opportunities related to children’s and adolescents’ ICT uses and their digital skills to understand how to purposefully use ICTs towards greater cognitive, physical, psychological and social wellbeing.

The Youth SKILLS is a large international research project, a HORIZON 2020, whose aim is to understand what kinds of skills are needed among children and youth so that the long-term positive impact of the digital environment can be maximised. The project will provide recommendations for strategies that can be used by children, parents, schools, and people working with and for children to develop skills that will maximise positive opportunities and minimise the risk of harm.

Led by the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium), the project includes 14 Universities from 13 countries (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, The Netherlands and United Kingdom) and European Schoolnet, a network of 34 Ministries of Education, who will actively engage in meeting the objectives of the project.

Project contribution
ySKILLS offer a critical perspective on the notion of skills itself: by extending traditional conceptions of skills, by recognising children’s critical views on their skills as young citizens with agency, voice and rights.

Project domain of research
Children and adolescents (12-17 years).

Publication category

Funding partner
European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement No. 870612).

Further information
Read more and follow the ySKILLS research project here.


Contact project lead

Eva Eriksson

Associate Professor School of Communication and Culture - Department of Digital Design and Information Studies

Ole Sejer Iversen

Professor School of Communication and Culture - Department of Digital Design and Information Studies

Project Partners

KU Leuven (Belgium),
London School of Economics and Political Science (UK),
Masarykova Univerzita (Czech Republic),
Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (Italy),  
University of Helsinki (Finland),
Universität Wien (Austria),
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen (Germany),
Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Portugal),
Oslo university (Norway),
Tartu Ülikool (Estonia),
EUN Partnership - European Schoolnet (Belgium),
Uniwersytet Im. Adama Mickiewicza W Poznaniu (Poland),
Universiteit Twente (The Netherlands),
Universiteit Gent (Belgium),
Aarhus University (Denmark).